Tuesday, 15 February 2011 13:29

Prolimatech Genesis All-in-one high end CPU cooler tested - 3. A closer look at Genesis

Written by Sanjin Rados
thumbtop-value-2008-lr

Review: Long live the King

Genesis cooler encompasses tower and blow-down cooling all in one neat package. The heatsink, as you can see, is split in two parts - one part is perpendicular to the CPU whereas the other is parallel to the motherboard. Genesis should be efficient even when paired up with low-RPM fans and its unusual design allows for using up to three large 14cm fans.

box7

Just to put things in perspective, the picture below shows how Genesis looks when mounted on a motherboard. The box says that Genesis is an „all-in-one Super-Sized CPU cooler“ and we agree wholeheartedly.


asus-genesis-1.

The heatsink measures (L)146mm X (W)216.5mm X (H)160mm and weighs in at 800g. Genesis has pretty standard weight for a high-end CPU cooler but it could very well be the widest CPU cooler on the market. Genesis supports Intel sockets 775, 1156 and1366 but you can mount it on AMD’s AM2/AM2+/AM3 sockets as well thanks to the included AMD mounting mechanism.

genesis_measures

The cooler does not come with fans, but it does feature two 14cm/12cm fan brackets so setting up the fans will be a breeze

genesis_1

box9

Genesis has six heatpipes. Cooler base is nickel-plated and comes with mirror finish, much like Prolimatech’s earlier coolers.

genesis-base1

genesis-base2

genesis-base3

The two Genesis heatsinks are perpendicular to one another, which means that Genesis utilizes every possible bit of airflow.

box10

(Page 3 of 5)
Last modified on Friday, 18 February 2011 08:53
blog comments powered by Disqus

Comments  

 
+5 #1 Nerdfighter 2011-02-15 15:54
Nice review, and the first one I could find. The design is pretty innovative, a fresh breath of air to the usual twin tower coolers. I have two questions though. 1. How does this fare against the Noctua NH-D14? 2. If you mount the fan to push air down to the RAM, would it get your RAM hotter since you're blowing the heat from the CPU onto the RAM?
 
 
+2 #2 Scootiep 2011-02-15 16:15
Very innovative design and good review, thanks guys. One thing I would add for consideration; my guess is that if you mounted the fan parallel to the motherboard in reverse, you would improve airflow. It seems to me that if you were sucking the air up off of the RAM instead of pushing the already heated air down onto the DIMMS, that air would then be drawn through the perpendicular fan through the second part of the heat-sink and out the exhaust fan on the back of the chasse. I think this would follow the natural airflow of the case more appropriately and prevent any hot air "dead" spaces in between the memory modules. Just my two cents of course.
 
 
0 #3 123s 2011-02-15 16:38
I like the design a lot too, just the price, 60$ without fans is not nice. Hope more affordable models come with this kind of design soon.
 
 
-2 #4 blandead 2011-02-15 16:43
Great review! Do you think you can do a quick noise test comparison please? Would love to see how loud it is.
 
 
0 #5 godrilla 2011-02-15 17:01
nice review
 
 
-1 #6 The blue fox 2011-02-15 17:35
Why not get a h50. It's cheaper, less noise, wont blow CPU heat on to the RAM, wont interfere with ram Coolers or motherboard coolers.
 
 
0 #7 ViperSpec 2011-02-15 17:50
Nice review. But I too will probably stick with my H50 push/pull set up. Keeps my CPU nice and cool so far, and its dang quiet even with the two higher end fans I'm using on it now.
 
 
-1 #8 Squall_Leonhart 2011-02-15 18:49
it looks stupid.
 
 
+4 #9 Nerdfighter 2011-02-15 19:04
Quoting The blue fox:
Why not get a h50. It's cheaper, less noise, wont blow CPU heat on to the RAM, wont interfere with ram Coolers or motherboard coolers.

The H50 won't get near as good temps as the best air-coolers. It's not cheaper: costs about the same in Caseking. Noise is decided by fans, and the H70 for example is loud as hell. Being able to clear Corsair Dominators is already pretty good for a huge cooler.
 
 
+1 #10 BiohazardSperm 2011-02-15 20:02
Design looks just like a the Coolermaster V10 just without a shroud one set of fins and TEC.
 

To be able to post comments please log-in with Disqus

 

Facebook activity

Latest Commented Articles

Recent Comments