Featured Articles

Nvidia Shield 2 shows up in AnTuTu

Nvidia Shield 2 shows up in AnTuTu

Nvidia’s original Shield console launched last summer to mixed reviews. It went on sale in the US and so far Nvidia…

More...
AMD CSO John Byrne talks ARM

AMD CSO John Byrne talks ARM

We had a chance to talk about AMD’s upcoming products with John Byrne, Chief Sales Officer, AMD. We covered a number…

More...
AMD Chief Sales Officer thinks GPU leadership is critical

AMD Chief Sales Officer thinks GPU leadership is critical

We had a chance to talk to John Byrne who spent the last two years as Senior Vice President and Chief…

More...
OpenPlus One $299 5.5-inch Full HD phone

OpenPlus One $299 5.5-inch Full HD phone

OnePlus is one of the few small companies that might disrupt the Android phone market, dominated by giant outfits like Samsung.…

More...
KFA2 GTX 780 Ti Hall Of Fame reviewed

KFA2 GTX 780 Ti Hall Of Fame reviewed

KFA2 gained a lot of overclocking experience with the GTX 780 Hall of Fame (HOF), which we had a chance to…

More...
Frontpage Slideshow | Copyright © 2006-2010 orks, a business unit of Nuevvo Webware Ltd.
Friday, 22 October 2010 14:40

HD 6850 with 1120 shaders went to reviewers

Written by Slobodan Simic
radeon_logo_new

Updated: Lower clocks but 1120 shaders

Some of the review sites have received some quite interesting Radeon HD 6850 samples, those that have all the 1120 shaders enabled. According to the posts, it is simply a matter of different BIOS and HD 6850 could end up with 1120 instead of the 960 Stream Processors.

Of course, this might end up to be just a few isolated cases in the beginning but hopefully users will be able to flash the BIOS and make such cards. Both the Techpowerup.com and Computerbase.de ended up with such a card. It would be interesting to see if any of those card actually ended up on the market and if some of the early adopters were lucky enough.

The big issue is that these sites scored much better results than what people will get with 960 shader enabled "normal" and regular Radeon HD 6850 card.

In any case, we'll see if these are just isolated cases or such cards actually did went to channel. You can check out the Techpowerup review here, while ComputerBase.de review is here.

Update: Wizzard from Techpowerup told us that although they did indeed receive the HD 6850 with 1120 shaders, the results in benchmark are achieved with a card that has 960 of them. Just to be clear, the results over at Techpowerup show the regular HD 6850 and not the one with 1120 shaders.


Last modified on Friday, 22 October 2010 18:32
blog comments powered by Disqus

Comments  

 
+40 #1 yourma2000 2010-10-22 15:49
oh well, reviewers know what to do, save the BIOS as a BIN file and upload to the net, free upgrade for all HD 6850 owners!
 
 
+23 #2 mrgerbik 2010-10-22 16:34
fun fun fun!

reminds me of good ol' 9500 to 9700 BIOS mods that allowed 4>8 pipes to unlock .. good times!

makes me wonder if these AMD "leaks" are really intentionally allowed here and there to help drive sales of lower end cards


regardless, if shaders can be unlocked, then you can count me in!
 
 
-3 #3 thomasg 2010-10-22 16:41
This is great! yourma2000 I hope some people follow your instructions, and that these chips can scale to at least 900 mhz... they are probably using the worst chips for the 6850 but hopefully they can still hit 6870 clocks.
 
 
+7 #4 Bl0bb3r 2010-10-22 16:42
Have you even bothered to look at the tests? On TPU they also have the ASUS 6850 with 960 su, albeit with a 15MHz OC, but even so, the ASUS scores above the buffed-up HIS in most test. Even compare some of the numbers from both sites and see that the ASUS performs better.

I call BULLSHIT on this:
The big issue is that these sites scored much better results than what people will get with 960 shader enabled "normal" and regular Radeon HD 6850 card.


No offense! But they could also be broken shaders for all we know.

Also, note that the ASUS and HIS have 3+1+1 power phases while AMD reference has 4+1+1 and neither HIS nor AMD reference managed to hit 925MHz of the ASUS card.
 
 
-9 #5 thaad 2010-10-22 17:44
Super power saver! that might slowdown current global warming!..
 
 
0 #6 yourma2000 2010-10-22 18:02
Quoting thomasg:
This is great! yourma2000 I hope some people follow your instructions, and that these chips can scale to at least 900 mhz... they are probably using the worst chips for the 6850 but hopefully they can still hit 6870 clocks.



it should work with all current 6850s on sale, although I wouldn't advise it when a newer batch of 6850s are released for the same reason they tell you not to put non rechargeable batteries in a battery charger (i.e. it might not work and you've then got a dead card)


I dunno why people are rating this down, it's known to happen due to changes in the card design later in production such as stuff like the memory manufacturer or a slight core revision
 
 
+6 #7 MrScary 2010-10-22 18:38
Quoting thomasg:
This is great! yourma2000 I hope some people follow your instructions, and that these chips can scale to at least 900 mhz... they are probably using the worst chips for the 6850 but hopefully they can still hit 6870 clocks.


They come fused so is imposible so unlock them, see techpowerups reviews's coments
 
 
+3 #8 Nerdmaster 2010-10-22 19:27
Quoting MrScary:
Quoting thomasg:
This is great! yourma2000 I hope some people follow your instructions, and that these chips can scale to at least 900 mhz... they are probably using the worst chips for the 6850 but hopefully they can still hit 6870 clocks.


They come fused so is imposible so unlock them, see techpowerups reviews's coments


These are sad news :sad:
 
 
+6 #9 canerpense 2010-10-23 06:09
Didn't AMD change the shader numbers before?

Maybe they are not fused or laser-cut but just disabled by BIOS, just like the first batch of GTX465's were.

We will soon see the odds. ;-)

--

Why the f*ck did I get a negative for this? You don't want your 6850 unlocked? THAT'S OK FOR ME, LOSER.
 
 
+3 #10 Bobington 2010-10-23 16:57
If Nvidia had done this, you'd be hearing non-stop conspiracy theories.
 

To be able to post comments please log-in with Disqus

 

Facebook activity

Latest Commented Articles

Recent Comments