Tuesday, 15 February 2011 13:29

Prolimatech Genesis All-in-one high end CPU cooler tested - 5. Conclusion

Written by Sanjin Rados
thumbtop-value-2008-lr

Review: Long live the King

 

Genesis is Prolimatech’s new high-end CPU cooler with excellent performance that definitely walks in the footsteps of Prolimatech’s Megahalems, Armageddons and Super Megas. This time however, Prolimatech chose to step away from the standard tower design and designed the Genesis in a way for it to mount a strong challenge for the king of high-end cooling. Apart from excellent CPU cooling, Genesis will take care of components around the CPU socket in a much better way than classic tower CPU coolers.

Standard Genesis packaging does not include fans, but Caseking.de who kindly provided our test sample said that they will offer several versions with included fans. You can find the link and some pictures below.

Before our photo gallery, we must say that we were blown away by Genesis’ performance. This means that two fans will most likely provide some serious cooling performance, the kind that will be really difficult to beat by the competition. Provided your motherboard is compatible with it and you don’t mind shelling out extra few bucks, you seriously cannot go wrong with Prolimatech Genesis.

Genesis hit the shelves today and you can find it here price at 60 euro without the fans. It definitely does not come cheap, but we're confident that the cooling performance will make it worth your while. We would recommend the Genesis to enthusiasts as it packs a mean cooling punch and in that respect thoroughly deserves to be dubbed a "Fudzilla Recommended" piece of equipment. However, if you think that your ideal cooling should not cost as much, you might want to check out Prolimatech's Armageddon which goes for 44 euro, here.


FudzillaRecommended-2011


caseking_genesis_1

caseking_genesis_2

caseking_genesis_3

caseking_genesis_4

(Page 5 of 5)
Last modified on Friday, 18 February 2011 08:53
blog comments powered by Disqus

Comments  

 
+5 #1 Nerdfighter 2011-02-15 15:54
Nice review, and the first one I could find. The design is pretty innovative, a fresh breath of air to the usual twin tower coolers. I have two questions though. 1. How does this fare against the Noctua NH-D14? 2. If you mount the fan to push air down to the RAM, would it get your RAM hotter since you're blowing the heat from the CPU onto the RAM?
 
 
+2 #2 Scootiep 2011-02-15 16:15
Very innovative design and good review, thanks guys. One thing I would add for consideration; my guess is that if you mounted the fan parallel to the motherboard in reverse, you would improve airflow. It seems to me that if you were sucking the air up off of the RAM instead of pushing the already heated air down onto the DIMMS, that air would then be drawn through the perpendicular fan through the second part of the heat-sink and out the exhaust fan on the back of the chasse. I think this would follow the natural airflow of the case more appropriately and prevent any hot air "dead" spaces in between the memory modules. Just my two cents of course.
 
 
0 #3 123s 2011-02-15 16:38
I like the design a lot too, just the price, 60$ without fans is not nice. Hope more affordable models come with this kind of design soon.
 
 
-2 #4 blandead 2011-02-15 16:43
Great review! Do you think you can do a quick noise test comparison please? Would love to see how loud it is.
 
 
0 #5 godrilla 2011-02-15 17:01
nice review
 
 
-1 #6 The blue fox 2011-02-15 17:35
Why not get a h50. It's cheaper, less noise, wont blow CPU heat on to the RAM, wont interfere with ram Coolers or motherboard coolers.
 
 
0 #7 ViperSpec 2011-02-15 17:50
Nice review. But I too will probably stick with my H50 push/pull set up. Keeps my CPU nice and cool so far, and its dang quiet even with the two higher end fans I'm using on it now.
 
 
-1 #8 Squall_Leonhart 2011-02-15 18:49
it looks stupid.
 
 
+4 #9 Nerdfighter 2011-02-15 19:04
Quoting The blue fox:
Why not get a h50. It's cheaper, less noise, wont blow CPU heat on to the RAM, wont interfere with ram Coolers or motherboard coolers.

The H50 won't get near as good temps as the best air-coolers. It's not cheaper: costs about the same in Caseking. Noise is decided by fans, and the H70 for example is loud as hell. Being able to clear Corsair Dominators is already pretty good for a huge cooler.
 
 
+1 #10 BiohazardSperm 2011-02-15 20:02
Design looks just like a the Coolermaster V10 just without a shroud one set of fins and TEC.
 

To be able to post comments please log-in with Disqus

 

Facebook activity

Latest Commented Articles

Recent Comments