Published in News

22 states attempt to block Net Neutrality repeal

by on17 January 2018

Begun the backlash has

A lawsuit filed today by the attorneys general of 22 states seeks to block the Federal Communications Commission's recent controversial vote to repeal Obama era Net Neutrality regulations.

The filing is led by New York State Attorney General Schneiderman, who called rollback a potential "disaster for New York consumers and businesses, and for everyone who cares about a free and open internet".

The letter, which was filed in the United States District Court of Appeals in Washington, is co-signed by AGs from California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, Washington and Washington DC.

"An open internet - and the free exchange of ideas it allows - is critical to our democratic process. The repeal of net neutrality would turn internet service providers into gatekeepers - allowing them to put profits over consumers while controlling what we see, what we do, and what we say online", he said.

So far, 49 Democratic Senators and one Republican have voiced their anger at the dubiously named Restoring Internet Freedom ruling. DC-based non-profit public interest group Public Knowledge also has issued protective petition today, asking the DC Court of appeals to kill the roll-back off.

Advocacy group Free Press also announced plans to sue the FCC, citing “Chairman Pai’s deeply flawed legal reasoning on several points”.
Last modified on 17 January 2018
Rate this item
(0 votes)